To anyone reading the archery forum

Would you say you are your own bow tech?

• I don't really work on my bow aside from minor adjustments

Votes: 71 29.3%
  • I take my bow to a shop to have string/cables replaced, but do my own tuning

Votes: 53 21.9%
  • I have a hone shop and outside of purchase, do everything myself.

Votes: 123 50.8%
  • Worry about other things BG besides where companies should be putting resources.

Votes: 1 0.4%

• Total voters
This is meant for anyone who shoots a bow. It's really just wondering how many archers really do all their own tuning/maintenance versus how many need a good local proshop. I suspect on RS we get the sense that most are a bow tech, when in reality it's far from it.

This is not a judgment post, simply personal research. Something I have wondered about for a while.

OP
Billy Goat
+1 for a shop. Not ashamed of that. I'm new to it. We all need guidance in one way or another

“Wisten to the whythmic whythm of the woodwinds as it wowws awound and awound…and it comes out here!” — Elmer Fudd

Without having a good shop with a good tech I would have been lost. Taught me a lot.

We all start somewhere, of course now lots of stuff on YouTube, however some things are still better hands on in my opinion. Some things are easy to miss just viewing on a screen. Like learning how to properly press a bow so it doesn't shoot out like a spit seed.

when I got into archery I really, really did not want it to become a hands on thing. But, shop hours, drive times, and my work schedule really forced me into it. Now I can't imagine having someone else work on my bow unless its a warranty issue.

Point Man

Lil-Rokslider