Tired of banging my head against a wall

Huntnfish89

Lil-Rokslider
Hello all,
I'll preface this by saying that I know I should have spent more time scouting and having a better understanding of deer behavior in my area. I don't excuse my poor planning, but I chose to spend the time learning more about elk and actually managed to do pretty well despite not being able to get a shot off. I guess what everyone said about archery being frustrating was right. I stand by that decision, but now I have humbly come here to ask for help and guidance for the rest of the season.

Anyways I have been hunting deer since 2012 and have yet to tag bucks other than my first deer that was on private land at a friends property in NE Wa and a surprise spike in 2020. We now live in the Idaho panhandle and since moving I have shot a number of does, but I cannot seem to put everything together to get myself in front of a buck for a shot, let alone consistently. I know it is still early in the season and the rut will get going later next month, but I wanted to ask if anyone has any advice on what I can do in the meantime to grow into a better hunter to get into some bucks, but more so to hunt with "intention" rather than just set up on some sign and hope that something will come along.

I will say that being more aware of the wind and thermals and using this to determine my approach and setup has considerably increased the number of encounters so that has been a huge change.