Gaiters Do you use them all the time?

Luked

WKR
I bought a pair of Sitka Gaiters for this years trip. We are going to CO in Archery.
I have never used Gaiters before so might seem like a dumb question but do you all use them pretty much all the time on your hunts?

I wear mine only when hiking through thick, wet vegetation (e.g., dew-covered tall grass, marshy areas around streams). Gaiters tend to make my feet/legs uncomfortably hot so I take them off when they're not needed.

KHNC

WKR
I wear my Kennetrek Gators almost daily. I dont use them in New Mexico typically. Usually dry as a bone there.

No. Never liked those "ankle booties" lol And for the last 38 years I have always wondered why people even use the things??? I think they are one more thing to keep track of. But to each their own.

When the snow is deep I just wrap 2 or three wraps of electrical tape around my pants tight to my boot and get after it.

Capture.JPG

This is my personal viewpoint and having moisture (other than sweat) is a rarity for where I mostly hunt:

Gaiters can do more than just keep your lower legs dry.

They can reduce damage to your lower pants and hems. They can prevent debris from getting in your boots. They can keep ticks out. They can help deal with things that poke you (ex: anything with thorns). They can help reduce you snagging your pants on brush.

A.hol1

Lil-Rokslider
I have a love hate with my gaiters.
Love the extra protection on my shins when bushwhacking through thick coastal brush. Keeps the morning damp off my lower legs.

Hate how hot they get. If the terrain is fairly open they come off for sure.

I have the KUIU Yukon gaiters for reference

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

*zap*

WKR