Deviated septum/sinus surgery recovery

I'm scheduled for surgery to straighten out a deviated septum and clean up my sinuses at the end of this month. It sounds like the "cleaning up my sinuses" part of the surgery is the more invasive part of the surgery, and requires a bit more recovery time than just a septum surgery would require.

I'm a farrier/blacksmith by trade, so I spend all day with my head below my waist underneath horses, and swinging a hammer. I'm also a crossfitter. Needless to say, my every day life is fairly active and physical.

My question is in regards to a realistic recovery timeline. Has anybody had this operation done? What did your recovery look like? How long before I can realistically expect to be back to work and fitness?

TxxAgg

WKR
I did it at 26. (40 now). That part was mild and not a huge issue. Just uncomfortable and the bloody boogers that come out are something to behold. Once you get the nose stents out you'll be good to go. I would guess a week of "down time"

I had my tonsils, uvula, and adenoids out at the same time as the deviated septum/nasal cavity. That was brutal...for nearly 3 weeks. Tonsils out as an adult is a real ass whip.

Last edited:

GSPHUNTER

WKR
My daughter had the surgery after dirt bike accident. She had no idea how to ride the bike and went through a garage door. Anyhow the surgery was no big deal but the thing I remember the most was, her entire face above her lips was bruised and quite swollen, which took a few weeks to start to look normal.

I had the polups cleaned out. They didn't have to go real deep and I only had one set of tampaxes to pull out. The surgery was nothing. The healing was like having a bad cold. The removing of the tampaxes was 1.5 seconds of hell. I was good to go after that. I have had to do a sinus rinse a couple times a day since then. More of an inconvenience than a problem.