Best Mono Bullet for Hunting/Effective Kills

philcox

WKR
I think I might have asked this before, but can't find that answer. I am in California, so to be legal, I need to shoot a mono bullet. Based on the MANY discussions @Formidilosus has started to participated in, I am looking for Mono's that (while maybe not ideal) will be the best. At this point, here is what I understand (can remember):
  • Fragmenting is "better" ... faster incapacitation
  • "Mushroom" look great, but permanent wound channels are not as good as above
  • Hammer Hunters "shed" pedals, so have some level of fragmentation
  • DRT Terminal Shock might be the best "mono" for effective killing
  • There are a bunch of mono's out there that I have no experience with
  • I have used Hammers and LRX to harvest animals previously.
    • I hit a great 1st shot (124 Hammer 2940fps 65 CM) at 415 on a deer, and it went about 40 yards and layed down, then I put another 2 in it, all exits. Then it finally expired. It did not "drop" on the 1st hit. I did not do an autopsy for the bullet (so not sure about "pedals"). I am wondering if the first shot would have done the job, or is a DRT would have dropped it on the first shot
    • Son shot my 300WM 175 LRX deer 275y, put 1st (great shot), deer stayed up. Ended up putting 3 total in it. All exits, and no big exit holes.
While the Hammer and LRX did their job, I am worried that the "would channel" of those are not something I can rely on "fast" incapacitation. Maybe that is just what I have to live with in California. With that said, my 78y neck shot with the 300WM did drop the deer in it's tracks.

I have not had good luck with DRT grouping in my 6.5, and they don't make a 7mm.

I'd like to know what Mono's folks are using and they are seeing quick incapacitation (or not).

ljalberta

WKR
I’ll be following along. I was initially a TTSX and LRX fan, but have found that I now prefer bullet that creates a wider and more devastating wound channel.