Any Game Wardens on Here for Advice?

Peaks&Creeks

Lil-Rokslider
Just seeking some advice and info about the aspects of becoming a game warden. I understand there is a shortage across the country and I have somewhat of an understanding of what the job entails, definitely not all great from the little research I’ve done.

In the current climate of LEO’s getting a lot of negative attention, what has work been like?

-Do you get any time to hunt for yourself during hunting season?
-Does “on call” happen all the time or are you rotating night/day shifts with other wardens?
-How is pay, raises, benefits and bonuses?
-How often are you experiencing dangerous situations?

I have a degree in Wildlife Management & Conservation and have been working as a field biologist for the last decade for many different organizations from private timber companies to Federal and State agencies. Due to this job taking me away from my family all summer, I’m looking to pivot into something within my field that will keep me home and on a regular work schedule, and thought going the game warden route could be a good career change.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, wether you’re a warden yourself or have friends or family who are.

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
Peaks&Creeks

Peaks&Creeks

Lil-Rokslider
I'm no warden but I'd suggest you get a job in WY. I've talked to a dozen or so, all have been head and shoulders better than the ones I've encountered here in OR. The WY guys liked their jobs and it showed.

I’m in Montana and would love to stay here, but could definitely be convinced to Wyoming as well.

hunt1up

WKR
I'm no warden but I'd suggest you get a job in WY. I've talked to a dozen or so, all have been head and shoulders better than the ones I've encountered here in OR. The WY guys liked their jobs and it showed.