RIP XV experience? (Other light gpi suggestions)

sndmn11

WKR
I am interested in feedback on the Rip XV, or alternate light GPI shafts. I'd prefer .204 ID, but .246 would be ok. 6 grains per pound of draw weight, total arrow weights, would be fun. I don't want to buy shafts and they break on 3d targets that are well aged, hard, etc.

Both @KickinNDishin and myself are shooting pierce shafts, ethics insert/outsert with 125gr tips. I am 544gr at 70lbs, she is 510gr at 55lbs, and we would likely need 300 and 400/500spine. I plan to use a HIT and lightweight collar whether from Easton/ethics/iron will whomever. I'd imagine a .246 shaft would be fine with whatever factory insert they come with.

The intention for these is a pronghorn arrow, some testing for a review, winning more 3d, etc. We can surely shoot elk with the arrows we have.

Bump79

WKR
I can't speak for the RIP XV but I've been shooting X-Impact or Element Storm in 300 spine for several years and have been thoroughly impressed by the durability.

JStol5

WKR
I think gold tip airstrikes May be a good fit for a .204 arrow. Mid 8 GPI in a 300 spine. Should work with a HIT and collar system.

OP
sndmn11

sndmn11

WKR
I think gold tip airstrikes May be a good fit for a .204 arrow. Mid 8 GPI in a 300 spine. Should work with a HIT and collar system.

That's choice two I believe. If the feedback was glaringly negative for the Rip XV, the airstrike is a viable option. If I learned the XV was fine except when you miss, I'd give them a try.

Aren't those the same shafts as the 3DHV? I know several guys who use those shafts, all with glue in target points. Don't see durability issues with them as a target shaft, don't know if I'd be crazy about putting a hit in them and hunting, tho probably fine with a .300 spine.

Haven't shot them myself, not much into .204 shafts.

For old 3d targets, and a lot of targets in general I find that you don't want to mess with collars and such.

OP
sndmn11

sndmn11

WKR