Pack weight training and training regime questions

marshrat

FNG
I'm new to training with a pack in my prep training. I bought a Kelty Cache Hauler, and I have been carrying 50lbs plus the weight of the pack to train. We don't have anything but hills around here, and that is difficult access sometimes. But my question is this. What weight should I be training with in the pack? I keep reading about these guys that are carrying out 100 lbs of meat after a kill, and I am severely impressed. Is this what I should be working up to? Also, training for the high country: other than maybe sprinting hills or going out west to just get used to it, what can I do for training prep in the absence of mountains? I weight train, run, sprint, Crossfit occasionally, work lower body, etc., but I am not an endurance minded person by any means. I want to be in far better shape before I attempt to head into elevation changes. Thanks.

This link if for training for trail races while living at low altitude.

http://www.ns2.bigstonepub.com/training/training-plans/309-train-low-race-high

Interval training is a great way to get your body ready for the high altitude stuff. Do more lower body stuff. Big arms don't get you up a hill, strong legs do. Then, they get you safely down with 80 pounds of elk meat on your back. A strong core and strong legs should be your primary focus for strength, and then work on your cardio with focus on endurance and intervals.

Pack training is good, just be careful you don't overdo it. If you go heavy too often you can set yourself up for injuries like plantar fascitis, or tendonitis in your achilles. If you can't hit the hills, do step ups onto a weight bench with 50 pounds in your pack. Do this for an hour and your legs will know you did something.

Train smart. Preventing injuries is a lot better than having to rehab them.

blb078

WKR