Moving to the UK and hunting/"Outdoorsing" options in Europe?

Blacktocomm

Lil-Rokslider
TLDR Up Top: Looking for good hunts in the Europe that are like the US backcountry or UK guided hunts I must do. Or any other advice for a few years of Ex-Pat life.

There is a 50/50 chance my family is asked to move to the UK for work . The expected timeline for us to be there is 2-4 years. I am new to big game hunting but fish and spear fished in my past.

I don't want to give up this new past time having hunted the past 3 years in the west. From podcasts, googling, and Rokslide searches it seems that in the UK there is no "public" hunting so I would have to use a guide (and most likely borrow their guns).

There is a decent "spearo" community I have seen on DeeperBlue so I think I am good there. But I am really looking for hunts that are either great guided hunts in the UK or EU countries I should visit to hunt there.

Advice on taking your own bolt guns or shotguns in a move to the UK or how to be a good "sportsman" out there would be welcome too.

OP
Blacktocomm

Blacktocomm

Lil-Rokslider
Bumping one time for advice on hunting overseas or good hunts to look for if I end up in the UK.

Or if people know or have tricks on how to take bolt actions or shotguns abroad for 3-5 years of living instead of just hunting trips.

ODB

WKR
Bumping one time for advice on hunting overseas or good hunts to look for if I end up in the UK.

Or if people know or have tricks on how to take bolt actions or shotguns abroad for 3-5 years of living instead of just hunting trips.

I would join one of the active international hunting sites like Africa Hunting. There are guys there from all over the world and probably have done what you want to do. The UK is no joke when it comes to guns, some makers even offer storage and the guns never leave the shop except for justified usage.