Lightweight cots and chairs

Tremain4414

WKR
Classified Approved
The group of guys I hunt with recently decided to give the lightweight spike camp thing a go this upcoming season. We have a line on some llamas we’re intending on using and are going to do a weeklong hiking camp this summer to help iron out the details on the spike camp and running animals since none of us have much experience.

We normally hunt using a hunting cabin we built as base camp then head out from there. None of us has much experience with the lightweight thing so any help is appreciated. We’re planning on running a total of 4 llamas and I recently purchased two Seek 8 man tipi’s.

While we’re in decent shape, I’m a vet and have issues with sleep. I have spent too much time sleeping with my head in the dirt and would like to have a lightweight cot and chair if possible. I’m 6’4, 240lbs but am working on getting that down to around 220 before the beginning of the season. Anyone have any lightweight setup they can recommend? Thanks!

Tyler

*zap*

WKR
I prefer a good 30" pad to a narrower cot but a chair similar to the helinox i have is a vgt.

OP
Tremain4414

Tremain4414

WKR
Classified Approved
The helinox is quite a bit more expensive than the therma rest stuff…quality I’m guessing but anyone have real world experience with both?

I started with a thermarest cot and it’s a pain to set up, lots of parts. At 175lbs I was touching the dirt. I switched to a Helinox and haven’t looked back. I do like to put a closed cell foam pad on it during the hunting seasons. I also use it to dry clothing as needed.

We normally hunt using a hunting cabin we built as base camp then head out from there. None of us has much experience with the lightweight thing so any help is appreciated. We’re planning on running a total of 4 llamas and I recently purchased two Seek 8 man tipi’s.
Careful running those llamas, they work better at a crisp walking pace.