GIS Project Ideas for Student

Huntnfish89

Lil-Rokslider
Good evening everyone. In addition to my hunting and fishing "problem" I am also a student at the University of Idaho working on my History degree. I am currently enrolled in an intro to GIS course and trying to come up with some ideas for a final research project that seeks to answer a specific question. I am drawing a blank right now as to ideas, so I figured I would check on here, see if anyone has more experience in this field than me, and hear some ideas of what would be an interesting project for a complete neophyte when to comes to GIS mapping. I am looking for something that would be interesting, but also manageable as far a scope. Basically something that would be relatively approachable for someone at my level.

Some ideas that I have been kicking around are:
Snowpack changes over that past 5 or so decades.
Drought and related changes in plant life (What plants seem to fare better than others etc.)
Maybe something with CWD spread in the West.
Bark beetle infestation and wildfire (compare and analyse?)
I thought doing something on thermal cover would be interesting, but I don't know about that finding datasets that would support this.

Anyways, I just wanted to throw this out there and see if anyone had some thoughts, thanks in advance.

Eddie

bozeman

WKR
What about standard deviation of temp changes or wind direction changes on north facing vs southern facing slopes? Or maybe the same deviation of when thermals change direction during the day (what time). Just something I’ve always thought about…….best of luck

Clarktar

WKR