When do you switch from Spray to Gun ??

matsprt

FNG
So you are in bear country. A bear makes it known you are either dinner or interrupting their dinner and it becomes clear you will need to employ measures to make sure you survive. You are carrying both bear spray and a sidearm for just such an occasion.
So you first use your bear spray. How do you decide that the spray is not going to cut it and fall back on your gun ??
Stats say 98% of bear encounters where spray was used ended the attack. I see some stats say the results From using a gun are not as good. Stats can be manipulated to support whatever opinion you want.
So how and when does one decide to use a gun instead of just spray ??

EdP

WKR
I have no experience with detering or stopping bear attacks, but some of what I have read makes sense and my natural inclination would be to use the highest level of force available against an attack. Many times I have read that spray is effective in detering the curiosity of a bear just interested in checking out your camp. That is not the scenario you described, but it makes sense to me to use the spray in that situation because of the likelihood of success and the avoidance of bureaucratic BS. In a situation with an agressive bear I would use the maximum deterrent I had available at the first opportunity. Dead bears don't kill people.

WKR
If a bear gets within the 5 yard range of a can of bear spray and for some reason I have started using it instead of my gun, I'll probably just keep spraying it for the 5 seconds it's gonna last before switching to my firearm.

I agree with just not carrying spray. In the event that I was somewhere I couldn’t carry a gun (unlikely but possible), I might pick up some spray.

If you feel compelled to carry both, I’d consider the spray as a deterrent to a bear that is clearly agitated but not charging, meaning you’re probably not justified in killing it.