Shoot advice for cooper 6.5x284

Hey guys I'm needing some advice, I was shooting my Cooper m52 6.5 x284 Norma today and was having issues getting any decent groups. I'm using Nightforce rings, and zeiss victory 1.5-6 scope. All ammo is factory loads. First groups were about 2" groups at 100 yards and that was with hsm 140s berger hpbt bullet, second ammo was nosler 129s accubond-long range which was about 1" groups. Bore was clean when I started shooting, but didn't clean gun till i got home. Both rings base are all set to torque specs. Just can't figure it out 🤷‍♂ maybe not enough magnification on my scope.
So any advice would be appreciated.

Rob5589

WKR
How was it shooting prior to this outing? New optics set up? Different ammo?

Monty3006

FNG
What reticle do you have on the scope? I have a 1.5-6 Zeiss Victory and because it’s FFP and has a No 4 reticle when it’s on 6 power the X covers a pretty large area so it isn’t great for trying to get small groups. I use a target with prominent grid lines when I’m sighting in. That aspect aside I think it’s a great hunting scope.

OP
SavedByGrace2001
This is the first time I shot it, just put new scope and rings. Scope is the zeiss victory ht 1.5-6x42 # 60 illuminated . Love the scope, but i was thinking for shooting groups maybe getting more magnification.
The guy i bought it from was hand loading and shooting half in or less. All i have shot was factory.

Monty3006

FNG
I reread your first post and saw you started with a clean bore. If your first shot/s were from a clean bore and you are including those in the group size then this is likely making that group bigger then if you start with a fouled barrel.

Also M.O.A. from factory ammo isn’t bad in my books, particularly for a hunting rig.

16Bore

WKR
What are you expecting?
Round groups?
Vertical?
Horizontal?
Can you actually shoot?
Has anyone else shot it?

Magnification isn’t going to make 2 shits of difference.

OP
SavedByGrace2001