Non lead bullets and performance at distance

Jfjfrye

Lil-Rokslider
Hey everyone,
I’m new to reloading and am doing to development with my savage 300wsm. I’m a CA resident and we have to use non toxic ammo. I am currently shooting 180 Barnes TSX. Gun seems to like it. My question is…… With mono bullets am I better off stepping down in weight and running a 150 vs 180 so I have better terminal performance on game out to around 600 -800 givin I can do my part and get the right dope and make a great shot.

Also does anyone have any insight on Barnes TTSX vs. Hornady CX and the performance at distance?

Thank you.

Axlrod

WKR
I would go down in weight to get the velo and term. preform. up. This is what I used to do when I used mono's way back when. None of them create a large wound channel and they all will out penetrate most cup and core bullets. So a lighter bullet is good.The 110/120 grain mono's out of 270/7mm worked as well or better than the heavier mono's out to 500 ish yards on elk/deer/antelope/& moose. Very few recovered bullets, usually a 1- 1 1/2" exit wound. Animal runs 50-100 yards and tips over.

Tod osier

WKR
Hey everyone,
I’m new to reloading and am doing to development with my savage 300wsm. I’m a CA resident and we have to use non toxic ammo. I am currently shooting 180 Barnes TSX. Gun seems to like it. My question is…… With mono bullets am I better off stepping down in weight and running a 150 vs 180 so I have better terminal performance on game out to around 600 -800 givin I can do my part and get the right dope and make a great shot.

Also does anyone have any insight on Barnes TTSX vs. Hornady CX and the performance at distance?

Thank you.