Muzzleloader accuracy potential

robby denning

Administrator
Staff member
I'm no pro muzzleloader guy, but I've been toying with them for about 10 years now. I've shot some incredible groups with peep sights (3-shots under 1" at 100 yards.) The pro's do even better than that.

I've been out of it for a few years, as I haven't pulled any tags so I don't have the pics to prove it. Next time to the range, I will though (as I'm applying for four states this year with a bunch of points so I'm preparing to draw) I'll pack my camera.

Anyway, are any of you accuracy freaks when it comes to muzzleloaders? What's your tools to improve accuracy?

Mine has been shooting loose powder (finer adjustments), seating the bullet the same depth everytime, and of course finding a bullet the rifle (more like the twist) likes. You?

BuckSnort

WKR
I think I got lucky with my Omega... I didn't have to do much experimenting.. 100 grains of Triple 7 fff and a 295 gr. powerbelt gives me 7/8" 3 shot groups at 100 (I spitpatch between shots)

Best thing I did was remove the rear sight and replace it with a Williams peep sight... Liked it so much I did the same with a model 94 win I have...

OP
robby denning

robby denning

Administrator
Staff member
Jason, you're exactly right. Peeps have so much potential. Amazing groups with your Omega. Obviously a little luck involved, but still an achievable group. Lots of guys settle for big groups with muzzleloader because after all, "it's just a muzzleloader", but that's not true. The old sharpshooter 150 years ago did incredible things with muzzleloaders and we have way more technology than they had.

Jared Bloomgren

Super Moderator
Staff member
I am using a TC Endeavor and have had some great luck with this inline. Although an inline my longest shot has been 186 yards with open sights. I had practiced with it a lot before setting out and knew much about my flight pattern. It is a great time!

OP
robby denning

robby denning

Administrator