Montan, Wyoming, Alaska MOVE

SURVEYOR

FNG
Hey Guys, My wife and I are thinking about moving to Montana, Wyoming or SE Alaska at the end of next summer. She is a RN soon to be Nurse Practitioner and I am a Professional Land Surveyor and can obtain licensure in any state. While she can find a job anywhere it can be hit and miss for me. However having never been to any of these states I would like a little information on areas you guys consider to be family oriented, affordable (Jackson Hole is out) and having good hunting, fishing and trapping opportunities. We currently live in the Texas Hill Country where land is 99.9% privately owned and stupid expensive to hunt. After Looking on realty websites and my research it looks as though NW Montana has everything but jobs (and redfish and speckled trout) however I would like to hear opinions on SE AK and Wyoming as well as what you know about Montana. She will be applying for jobs next spring so we will be visiting for the interviews etc. Just want a little insight as to where to focus our search. Oh yeah I want to live near trees again.

Thanks

I do a little survey and/or engineering work in SE Alaska every year. Your option for companies to work for are going to be very very limited. Just a handful of them... mostly in Juneau, but a couple is Sitka and Ketchikan that I'm aware of. A nursing job will be easier to get than a survey job, so I'd make your position the priority if you are thinking SE Alaska. Shouldn't take you very long to call around to the handful of survey places and figure out if they are even interested in giving you an interview. That will tell you if there is any point to putting in applications for the nursing positions in that town.