Kangaroo vs Cordovan

Cordovan is SLICK which is good.
I'm not a leather expert but I've always thought of kangaroo as soft, thin and pliable.

I would suggest just buy a Yost tab and move on.

You got the short answer.

The long answer; I have a kangaroo hide...and a bunch of other hides here that I use for rest material.....

I've tried making hair tabs from these...Eland and Oryx I think it was I tried as those hides were a little thicker. They work good....but the hair sloughs off eventually.

kangaroo will work fine if that's what you have...but leave the hair on [best to trim it a little] and you might have to back it with a thin piece of split leather to stiffen it up a little.

Well the reason I was asking is, I noticed at least one tab maker offering both cordovan and kangaroo tabs. I really like my cordovan tabs but was curious if there is something slightly stiffer or thicker for just a touch more protection.

Have you ever had a kangaroo tab?

No I have not

If you've never used it how do you know?

Every quality I want in a tab can be found in a good cordovan tab. Cordovan tabs can be found in thin or thick versions, stiff or supple and it's almost impossible to wear it out. I would guess more cordovan tabs are lost than worn out.

I've seen a kangaroo tab I think from some place in Australia (duh) and I'm sure it would work well.

If cordovan is good enough for Brady Ellison it's darn sure good enough for me.

You could check with a taxidermist......my buddy is a taxi and I can get little chunks of 100 different hides....he throws the little pieces away.

_______