Idaho Steelhead Run

tbro16

FNG
Curious if theres anyone around the Boise area that wouldn't mind helping me out a bit. I'm a travel nurse that just took an assignment in town for the next 5 months. All I care to do on my days off is fish. I've never caught an Idaho steelhead before and thats really goal #1. I can imagine they'd be tough to find if not recently stocked in the Boise river? If so, I'd be happy to drive a few hours and wade through the Clearwater/Salmon rivers to find some action. Just looking for some help, as I don't fully understand how/when they run in certain stretches of certain rivers. Also looking for a little direction on which rivers or stretches of rivers that ice up enough to make wade fishing tough to impossible this time of the year. If I get desperate enough down the road I may book a guide but I'd like to at least give it a shot myself first. If you're looking for a trade I'd be glad to offer a spot in my boat for some good walleye fishing later this spring/summer back in Minnesota + Wisconsin.

Probably a bit early for me to talk spring bear season so I'll stick to the trout for now!

280Ackley

WKR
I would highly recommend reaching out to Reeltime fishing and going with them as a single fill in seat. They are top notch and will get you on multiple fish. I take my own boat out in September and October on the lower Clearwater and do really well. I went two years ago with Reeltime with a couple clients and we had over 20 fish in the boat in one day. D825870D-198D-4FFB-841C-FED4835D2970.jpeg668B0D93-D3EB-4895-9F45-A7DC0701BC81.jpeg0EA8A5B0-EE29-4772-8B66-1CA2E306A91D.jpeg832B6EE4-3E18-4E3C-9E40-3ABA040A0BB6.jpeg9DB598D9-596C-484F-B154-EA18DA6C797A.jpeg7846DBEF-9BCB-419D-83A3-2FCD2F5F687D.jpegE57F7CA3-8C5B-49F6-BE64-4DF41C6B8D94.jpeg

If you want to try without a guide,Head up to Riggins and turn up the main Salmon just south of town. They are in the river now. There is fishable water up to the end of the road at Vinegar Creek.

Marble