How do I teach my dog to pick up sheds?

ccoffey

Lil-Rokslider
Wasn’t really seeing anything in the thread search I did, but if there is one out there I missed. Let me know. We just picked up an 8 week old Bernese Mountain Dog. He’ll hopefully get out with me on some scouting trips late this summer or next spring. Anybody have any tips for training them to bring back sheds?

Picture of George for attention mainly haha

Attachments

• IMG_1345.jpeg
    IMG_1345.jpeg
    148.7 KB · Views: 30
Mine isn’t 100% great at sheds, but usually if she won’t pick them up she does stop and sniff them which helps me find them anyway so I’m not an expert at it.

Anyway, what I did was take a couple sheds and cut the sharp points off them so I could throw them and have her fetch them like you would a tennis ball. From there moved on to having them just laying in the yard and she’d pick them up without seeing them be thrown.

When walking in a field or along the river I’d take a shed with me and toss it to the side of the trail and have her find them.

wowzers

Lil-Rokslider
I work in the woods and had my dog with me from about 16 weeks and I really wasn’t sure he was going to get it. I would see one and intentionally walk him over it and he could have cared less for the first year. Then something clicked and he would just start bringing them to me. I played fetch at the house with horns a lot but I screwed up not taking every one from him and giving him a reward. The crappy ones I would throw through woods while I was working. This led to him not wanting to go get more so readily. If I had it to do over I would have taken each one given him a reward and hung it in a tree if I didn’t want to take it home. All bets were off for the day when he would flush a grouse.

AA740DE9-8320-4F6A-A6C8-D84587A95E60.jpeg

Bmhunts

FNG