Hot tent camping in -30°c/-22°F

Hey all,

I currently have a -7°c sleeping bag and a -20°c sleeping bag. I'm not new to camping, although I am new to winter backcountry camping. Currently the weather is -24°c overnight and it's only getting colder.

I know the stove in my hot tent shouldn't be expected to heat me more than an hour or two at night and as such I am looking for suggestions.

Should I be buying new bags or getting liners for my current ones?

I'm trying to save money currently and I'm not sure if buying two $300 bags is in the budget.

Are you in the back country or at the car? That sounds proper cold. I’d stuff that -7 inside the other bag and you should be good and toasty.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TX_Diver

WKR
I have minimal experience with anything like that, but make sure you consider the sleeping pad too. If you're pad doesn't have much insulation you may want to upgrade that first. Are you packed in or at the truck (asking as you seem to have cell service). If you're at the truck bring some extra blankets too.

OP
T
Are you in the back country or at the car? That sounds proper cold. I’d stuff that -7 inside the other bag and you should be good and toasty.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Back country camping! Shoot, I hadn't even thought of that to be honest

Archerichards

Lil-Rokslider
Ditto on the value of a sure-enough cold weather sleeping pad underneath your bag. Super important. You should think of them as a system.

sneaky

"DADDY"
Properly rated sleeping pad, then lay one bag over the other. Stuffing one inside the other is going to compress the fill and defeat the purpose. Use what you have if you can handle packing both bags

There isn’t a sub $300 bag I would trust down to those temps.

Summer camping is one thing - yeah, it might ruin your trip but if your $50 20 degree bag only works down to 50 you’re not gonna die.

If your -20 rated bag only really works down to 0 or 20 you’re likely boned in the worst way.