Fowling shots and barrel corrosion

Sawtoothsteve

Lil-Rokslider
Greetings,

I'm fairly new to muzzle loading, and primarily use as a secondary weapon for a late season hunt when the archery season doesn't pan out to hopefully avoid tag soup. Well, the archery hunt didn't work out this year, so I'm at the muzzle loader bench right now to prep for a November hunt. I've had a few shooting sessions with a new bullet that I'm getting better consistency out of my Traditions Vortek rifle than I have found before, but consistency doesn't seem to show up until between 4 and 6 fowling shots.

This brings me to the question of fowling the gun before the hunt and how long I can/should go before I give the barrel a good cleaning? Reading through some older posts, it seems a fowling shot is common and recommended, cleaning the barrel after each shooting session a must, and yet some report leaving the gun "charged" for months with no ill effect on shooting, but if that were "left over" from a hunt, I would assume a fowling shot had also occurred. I would love to hear from some more knowledgeable on the subject. Can I fowl the barrel and leave it alone for several days or even weeks without a worry?

For reference, I am shooting a western legal Traditions Vortek LDR with stainless and cerekote barrel. I am shooting 90 gr Triple 7 FFFG and a 420gr No Excuses lead conical with a musket cap for ignition.

Any input would be super appreciated.

Steve

nphunter

WKR