Elk in CO - Spotting Scope needed?

Mowy33

FNG
Hi all - First-time poster, long-time lurker.

I'm heading to CO for first rifle season in the Flat Tops area. The plan is to hike in a few miles, set up camp, and then day hunt from there.

I'm going back and forth on whether a spotting scope is truly needed as I don't currently own one. I will be running Swaro 10x42 SLC's.

For those who have experience in this area, or have gone back and forth with this debate - what are your thoughts? Is it worth getting one (looking at the Vortex Razor), or will my Bino's be enough? I am not looking to score a gigantic trophy elk as this is my first hunt, so using a spotter to score the elk isn't necessary. I would just to ensure it's legal.

What are your thoughts?

First off, I’m a newbie also for elk. Hunted them once in the Flat Tops with bow. There were a couple areas we used our spotting scopes. But this year, I am not bringing the spotting scope. Didn’t feel they helped. The elk we found were not out in the open meadows anyways.

I’d say your binos will be enough.

Having said that, I carry 8x32 binos elk hunting and will be packing a compact spotter. I wouldn’t buy one for my trip if I didn’t have it already though.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I always pack a spotter. But if I didn’t have one and was only looking for a legal bull I wouldn’t purchase one for the hunt.

No spotter needed unless you really want to score a bull from the opposite ridge, I.E. highly coveted draw tag. OTC or low point draw just pack the binos and chase it if it has horns (with 4 points on a side)

I generally carry a tripod if I'm going to be in places high enough to do much glassing, especially under a full moon for those first few minutes of daylight in the morning. If I'm hunting lower timber I don't carry the tripod.