CO long term game, short term consequences

Bluumoon

WKR
Couldn't resist piggy backing off the other thread this morning. Came across the article yesterday.

I'm new to living and hunting in the West, specifically SW CO, but I've seen 10:1 out of state to in state license plates the last two years while scouting and hunting.

I don't know the #s like some of you guys, so if anyone wants to review the article for misrepresentation of facts I personally would find it useful.

tdhanses

WKR
Couldn't resist piggy backing off the other thread this morning. Came across the article yesterday.

I'm new to living and hunting in the West, specifically SW CO, but I've seen 10:1 out of state to in state license plates the last two years while scouting and hunting.

I don't know the #s like some of you guys, so if anyone wants to review the article for misrepresentation of facts I personally would find it useful.
Thing is you won’t see a change in the SW, residents hunt other areas mainly, outside of otc units if you look at the draws many don’t get enough resident participation to even meet the current threshold so then the NR get a larger percentage of tags.

There just are better areas to hunt that don’t take years of points but these areas may be feeling it since more residents flock to them.

The SW is also a major tourist areas for southern states and midwest, many own properties there or have family there etc.

CO does need to make changes to it’s current system but it’ll be hard to lose the NR cash since they also give out more tags then most of the other western states combined, CO just has more wildlife and habitat and doesn’t manage the state for trophy hunting overall.

woods89

WKR