Binoculars and Spotting Scope or just Binoculars?

Breeves1

Lil-Rokslider
I’m new to mule deer hunting and new to hunting out west in the mountains. I’ve lived in Kansas my whole life chasing whitetails. I will be headed west to Colorado hopefully this year and can’t decide what to do about optics. This year I will only have an $700-$800 limit for optics. I’ve got a lot of other things to buy too just starting out. I’m planning on hunting high country just so you know. Should I buy one set of 12x50 mid grade binoculars such as vortex razor hd or Meopta. Then I would purchase a spotting scope probably next year. Or do I buy a level down maybe a vortex viper 12x50 and also a viper spotting scope this year. Then sell and next year and move up in quality. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks everyone.

tdhanses

WKR
Do not go down, buy the best bino you can and personally vortex I wouldn’t have on the list. Meopta is a great choice. I would go 10x42 though.

Sounds like you should be shopping for a great deal on a ~1200-1500 pair of binos used or demoed for 800. Cameralandny is forum sponsor and a great source for that type of deal, as are a few other sites you can find mentioned in various threads. Meopta (new), Kowa prominar (new), Nikon top tier (new), used/demo Zeiss, Swaro, Leica, should be what you're holding out for. Hunting season is a few months away, don't buy something cheap just because you want to have it in your closet for the summer. There's great deals to be had when you use time to your advantage, I purchased my bino's for $1400 below street price by being patient and holding out for a deal.

You can get by with a very cheap (or non-existent) spotting scope for a year or two, it's main purpose is judging quality and you can deal with the poor optics for short chunks of time. Game location is best done with binos on a tripod.

manitou1

WKR
Go for the Meopta Meostar 10x42 and get a spotter later, if you still feel you need one.