Another possible wolf delay

taskswap

WKR

MikeDeltaFoxtrot

Lil-Rokslider
NEPA is a really interesting statute. I studied it in some detail when I took environmental law in law school. It does not in any way limit what a government agency can do, but it requires them to adequately consider the environmental impact of their activities and then prepare an environmental impact statement. When you sue under NEPA, you are challenging the sufficiency of the EIS. If you win, they have to go back and do it over. Then you can rinse and repeat with a new suit. When you consider the timing of the various federal court appeals, a NEPA case can delay government action for years.

It is not clear to me how the Colorado state government is subject to NEPA, which normally only applies to federal agencies. There may be some federal dollars involved. If I get a chance, I'll pull the complaint and report back.

MikeDeltaFoxtrot

Lil-Rokslider
I found the case. It is number 1:23-cv-03258 in the U.S. District Court for the District of Colorado. The plaintiffs have moved for a temporary restraining order (TRO) and a preliminary injunction.

Judge Regina M. Rodriguez has the case, and she is Biden appointee. To her credit, she held a hearing on the TRO almost immediately. The case was filed on 12/11, and she had hearing on 12/14. If she wanted to, she could just pocket veto the whole thing by ignoring the case for a few months. I have had them happen with TRO motions.

Last edited:

wapitibob

WKR
Delaying the inevitable, CO has wolves and they will increase. Work on a Wolf Plan that creates a maximum number of pairs and allows hunting or trapping by the public to maintain that number. That's where we went wrong in OR.

MikeDeltaFoxtrot

Lil-Rokslider
OK. I figured out the NEPA jurisdictional piece. The USFS has a cooperative agreement with the Colorado Parks department. The decision to renew that is what is being challenged under NEPA. Clever. Here is the language from the complaint.