A better tree setup

Novashooter

Lil-Rokslider
I wasn't sure to put this in the Whitetail, Bear, or gear section, so please understand this post isn't only directed for whitetails, but I'm assuming most people in trees hunt whitetails. I'm mainly a ground hunter for a number of reasons, sometimes ground blind, sometimes low profile chair, so tree hunting is something I'm not experienced with. I own an older tree stand I got second hand years ago, I'm not even sure of the brand. It's your typical stand that used to be the defacto standard 10+ years ago. Just a basic steel platform and tiny little seat. It does the job for what it is, but I'm not sure the last time I used it to good effect. The last time I used it I as so uncomfortable I only sat for 2 hours before I was drenched in sweat from the pain. That was almost 3 years ago. I have hunted from ladder stands, as well as other tree stands, and I'm just not really happy with anything I've found so far. One of those cheap 2 man ladder stands is not too bad for a single guy, but at that point it's a semi-permanent stand mostly only good for private land I could build a proper box blind anyway. Tree stands are just so limited in my area of the Dakota's, Minnesota, and Wyoming/Montana, especially climbers. I've never hunted from a climber, and I don't see how a person around here could. The only time a tree is straight, with no branches more than 4 foot up is at a golf course. Maybe northern MN in the pine forest? Hang on stands are usually not a ton better. The last time I used my own the tree had an ever so slight, maybe 5 degree forward angle I didn't know about until I was already sitting. Just that little bit was absolute hell on the legs. Any little knot in the back is horrible. A lot of times deer hunting, the best spots are oak or cottonwood trees, and normal tree stands just don't go in them very well, that's if they aren't too big. Most of the time I don't even bother, I just sit on the ground.