Acceptable speed tolerance?

775mud

FNG
Hi everyone,
I am new to reloading and had a question on what the speed differences are for loads. What is the tolerance I need to look between each load? There was a 1" difference in height when we had the faster shot at 3200+FPS compared to the slower 3178FPS at 200 yards.

I reloaded .257 Weatherby Mag with RL22 using 64.5g of powder. Hornady suggested max load in the book. It's a 117g bullet at 3.170" total length. Also suggested in the Hornady book.

The max speed we got using a LabRadar was 3255 and the slowest speed was 3178. Our average after 8 shots was 3209fps.

I was pretty anal loading the bullets so I made sure I tared the scale each time I poured the powder, to make sure I had the 64.5g of powder each time.
The 8 speeds were 3189,3255,3178,3202,3239,3177,3247,3188.

Is this normal and I'm just sweating the small stuff or did I do screw up somewhere?

ckleeves

WKR
It kinda depends on the distance you’re hunting/shooting at. A ES of 77 isn’t ideal, but at 500 yards with a 117 SST (not sure what bullet your shooting so I just ran that one) it only calcs to 2.3” of vertical difference. Assuming your dope is based off the 3209 you’re only looking at 1.4” of vertical miss off your dope worst case scenario.

Your actual ES is probably bigger then 77 fps just because 8 shots over the chrono isn’t telling the whole story but at the same time it’s better then 3 shots.

Set up some paper at the max distance you plan to shoot/hunt at and see what it looks like. Chrono those also so you get a bigger sample. Trying different primers is an easy thing to try if you want to clean it up.

A382DWDZQ

WKR
Hello & welcome to reloading, enjoy!