2024 Bob Marshall Wilderness Open

mtwarden

Super Moderator
Staff member
This is an annual event, similar to the Alaska Wilderness Classic if you're familiar with it. Travel is on foot and/or packrat, the start and finish change each year, you decide on the route on how to get there. The event happens the Saturday before Memorial Day, now in it's 13th year. I've been doing it for the last 10 years. May in the Bob you can expect snow at a minimum in all of the higher passes, high water in the creeks and rivers, lots of blowdown (the trail crews don't start until early to mid June) and hike amongst most of the apex predators :)

This year the route would include a bunch of road walking and much of it outside the Wilderness Complex. Soooo.. my buddy Tom and I decided we could do better. We came up with a 100 mile route that started and finished within the Bob Marshall Complex AND no road walking. We went our way also in 2021 when the route ended in Missoula and would require rafting (we're not rafters). We had a great time that year and met a new comer, Elliot, who agreed to go with us again.

We planned a very ambitious route that included a lot of off trail stuff, lots of ascent/descent and would put us through some of the nicest stuff the Bob has to offer (which is a lot!!). We would start near Lincoln and if all went well, end up north of Choteau at the SF of the Teton River.

We camped Friday night at the trailhead and started early Saturday morning.

WwPF0N3.jpg

It was raining lightly, but we had mostly snow free trails, not a lot of blowdown and were making decent time.

Webb Lake cabin (USFS work cabin)

OCAvExx.jpg

mostly snow free :)

0u15QPg.jpg

Turning up Middle Fork of Landers Ck headed for a high pass. We hit deeper snow on and off; every time we thought about donning our snowshoes, it would peter out (only to reappear after we didn't put them on :D)

oOBOjqq.jpg

The trail started to quickly turn steeper and then disappeared, we just kept climbing.