Wyoming Elk Permits - Overselling to cover losses

OP
Laramie

Laramie

WKR
That’s because theres just more elk. Which I like but sadly due to habitat loss/fragmentation there’s only so much winter range to go around.
As a biologist I expect more from you. The post you responded to had nothing to do with winter range.

More elk are living down low year round but it isn't due to over population. It is in response to several things- massively increased hunting pressure on national forests, increased recreation in national forests, technology allowing anyone to navigate every square inch on our public lands, over grazing, multi year droughts, etc. Wolves do not solve this issue. If anything, they add problems on top of already existing problems. In most elk areas, wolves would drive even more animals into agricultural areas, increasing conflict.

You find one real rancher in Wyoming who is in favor of wolves and I would be very surprised.

Solve the access problem and 99% of issues go away as long as biologists do their job setting accurate quotas.

Last edited:

stan_wa

Lil-Rokslider
I think it’s pretty well documented that elk are much less impacted by bad winters than deer and antelope, yet compete for the same resource, so you can help deer populations by decreasing elk populations

Archer86

WKR
They really didn't add that many tags if you look at most are just shifting tags to different tag types

Not sure its a money thing either with adding 50 or 25 tags here and there and maybe a few over 100 the 84 percent to resident to 16 nr still applies. Should make it easier for my kids to have 2 type 6 tag along with there general tags this year and give the deer a break

If nr think it's a win to get a couple type 6 tags then they will be really happy when they see the nr elk regions it is going to take 8 points to get a western elk region general tag under the current proposal.

OP
Laramie

Laramie

WKR