Why is Colorado OTC of such shit quality?

Loo.wii

WKR
Alot of people have their opinions on Colorado OTC units some people think its shit , others think its amazing. Obviously hunting is a money generator for states wether its OTC or otherwise. Why does the colorful state get a bad rap? Though I have little experience in the topic my suspicion is that people who hunt Colorado and complain about its poor quality are actually complaining about the fact that they don't see elk, in part because every fatty in the US who doesnt want to cough up for a Utah out of state tag comes to Colorado to get their fix. All the ground with the least field problems is crowded and blows the elk out.
My suspicions of why people don't see elk are in part due to inability to cover ground, weather its laziness or otherwise. My second hypothesis on how and why people dont see elk is lack of experience. I myself suffered from this ailment. On my first go around i didn't realize how much ground i needed to cover or how to do it. I also didnt know what i was looking for.
It seems like people in other states can drive up to the trail head. walk a mile and shoot an elk. It takes a bit more grit here but its not impossible.

I’m almost certain that the root of the complaints are that people can’t find elk as easily as they can in other states.

Whats the deal?
Am I out of line?
What are your opinions.

Last edited:

Ucsdryder

WKR
Geee…. Hmmm…. 🤔

It couldn’t be because Colorado has seen an increase in all OTC (archery & rifle) of over 24% by non-residents, from 35,818 in 2014 to 44,409 in 2021 could it?
Yep. 25% more guys, coupled with more guys “going deep” more guys staying for weeks at a time, or even the whole month, etc. it’s all about days in the field. That number has exploded. More days = more pressure.

Firestone

WKR