Why do old Leupold scopes go for so much?

schlumpyj

FNG
I inherited a 7mm rifle from my dad and it has a 30ish year old Leupold scope. I'm new to rifle hunting so not super familiar with the details of optics. I was thinking about putting on a new VX-3HD scope so I could have the MOA adjustments dial. I don't particularly like guessing where to aim if the target is not at my zero.

I then went to look on Ebay to see what the old scope (Leupold vari-x iii 3.5-10x40) would go for. I was shocked to see the cheapest one sold in the past few months went for $310. The new scope would cost about $420 so I'm wondering what I'm missing here?

Surely optics have advanced enough in 30 years to make the old versions worth significantly less? Is there something special about these old scopes that I should know? Thanks!

OP, I will answer your questions with my opinion and my opinion only…

Have optics advanced in 30yrs? - - Hell Yeah

Is there something special about these scopes? - - Hell No

What are you missing? - - People try to screw you. And other people are willing to pay the $. So maybe that makes it a mutually beneficial screwing? If both parties are happy, so be it. Me personally, I wouldn’t buy a used scope from my grandma, let alone a guy off eBay. I would rather buy new, then you know exactly how it’s been treated. Others would vehemently disagree and have several examples of it working out for them.

Specific to Leupold… they are an American company trying to compete with the top tier European optics. They do this by inflating their prices so that they sit next to the Swaros, etc. in the display counter. They’re MSRP is ridiculous. Ask someone with a pro deal discount on them. They’re good scopes with great glass. My family was Leupold-only for a long time. But they are marked up huge.