What is the ultimate gear list.

Aron Snyder

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
Yep, that's how it works!

Patrick just gave me his Grivel and it's as long as the extended snoscopic. They don't make one that long anymore, so I better not let er fly of a cliff:)

Aron Snyder

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
Like I mentioned before, I'm no Alaska expert, but down in the lower 48, my modified micro spikes will get me just about anywhere. We crossed several glaciers on James's goat hunt and were lucky we didn't die, but that situation doesn't happen very often.

The areas in Colorado I go have large snow fields and glaciers at certain times of the year, but you can walk around them pretty easy, so I choose that over packing the weight and bulk of my BD's.

Having said all that, I've come of the mountain on 4th season goat hunts a couple times because I didn't bring my ice axe, spikes or CP's:) But it did have them in the truck (great place for them). It didn't ruin the hunt, but I did have to walk my fat ass back up the 13 K peak because I was to lazy to pack them in the first place!
Crampons are basically a necessity if you are hunting on a big glacier. They are also good for getting out of bad spots but you need to be practiced and actually have used them both on dry land and ice. I have only had to use them twice to help cut steps when I got snowed in. I find that the more I sheep hunt the more I
make sure that I have them. They are more important to me than many things because they can get you out of trouble. I use ice axe for support and cutting steps.

Sincerely,
Thomas

OP
60x

60x

WKR
I think those micro spikes would work great for me but the only drawback I found when I looked at them was I didn't think I could get them over my size 12 koflach.

Aron do you guys do anything special to deal with or train for the altitude or is it something you just get used to. Any special gear for altitude?
And great list thanks for sharing!
Dave

Last edited:

luke moffat

Super Moderator