What binoculars should I get for a first time hunter ?

Mikhail

FNG
I’m just getting into hunting and new a set of binoculars, what kinda of spec should I get?

I hunt deer, elk, hog etc… I live on the west so I glass a lot of hillsides and mountains.

Budget 500ish

Should I get: 8x42 or 10x42 or 12x50 or 15x etc….

And what budget tripod would you guys recommend?

I’ve always been partial to 8x42’s. I they are a bit more versatile. Maven is a solid choice and so are vortex vipers in that price range.

peterk123

WKR
I have been using 10x42 meopta meostars hd. Fairy new to western glassing. Cost me a grand. Worth every penny. The difference is when you have low light. Elk 100 yards away? No problem. Put it on a tripod and it's next level.

Like people will tell you.... buy the best you can afford.

OP
M

Mikhail

FNG
Anything but vortex. Stick to 8x or 10x because it's difficult to steady 12x or 15x without a tripod.

Do you have a budget for a tripod? Glassing with binos on a tripod is a game changer.
Nothing crazy for the budget for the tripod 100-200

Jack321

Lil-Rokslider
Check Doug at Cameraland. Solid guy with great knowledge.

How soon do you want/need your optics? Don't forget about the used market. You can find decent deals if you watch out. Maybe spend another $100 for some used binos that will give you a step up above the regular priced $500 binos.

I once saw some Zeiss Conqueat HDs on Craigslist for $450! Guy sold em before I could get em.

Check out Adorama, EuroOptic, B&H Photo and CameraLand for their used/clearance sections.

$500 is kind of the "tweener" amount, it's between the "Really Good" glass and the "Good Glass."

If I had $500 I'd look for some $800-1000 glass thats used. Might have to wait a little and scour the sites, but they're out there.

Fjellvei

Lil-Rokslider