tracking dogs for wounded bears question

lowpressure

Lil-Rokslider
So ive been hunting big game for around 38 years and have been fortunate to have only lost 2 animals that ive shot over that period. I just spent 21 days chasing black bears and wolves and on day 18 I had my chance. I have seen a total of 15 black bears (the most ive ever seen in a single season). Every one was either a sow with cubs or a very young boar. I saw a grizzly with a cub on the second day of the hunt. Anyway, on the day in question I shot my bear perfectly broadside at close range and chose the typical mid body moving forward slightly shot placement. The bear spun when shot and was biting at the exit side of the rib cage. I was on a very very steep section that had an open meadow just above a large alder patch that ran down the mountain about 700 feet and was better than a mile long with just a few openings here and there. I took the shot with just a few minutes of light left in the day. After the shot i heard some crashing but no moan. After an hour i took my headlamp and eased down to where the bear had entered the alders. There was smeared blood so i marked the entrance and i followed the trail for about 80 yards. There wasnt much blood as can be the case with bears sometimes. I checked my area forcast and it stated 0 percent chance of rain for the next 48 so i decided to back out and come back at first light........

At 3 am i was awakened by thunder and it rained hard until well after daylight. when i got back to where i had marked the blood trail i couldnt even see it on the branches. I spent the next 3 days grid searching that drainage with onx. 27 miles of just grids. I left heartbroken that i was unable to recover the bear.