Shotgun barrel/sight upgrades for hunting deer w/ buckshot?

I have an old 870 Wingmaster with a long factory barrel with only a bead on the end, and no way to mount a metal sight or scope. I sometimes use it to hunt deer. It can testify that a load of 00 Hevishot to the head of a blacktail is instantaneously and profoundly fatal.

But I’ve also airmailed a couple easy shots. I’m not a great shotgun shooter, and I have a tendency to pick my head up off the comb when I get excited.

Would I be better off with a different barrel with iron sights, or even a small turkey-style scope? If so, any suggestions? Or should I just spend more time at the local rock pit?

I don’t want to ditch the gun; it was my grandfather’s.

Thanks!

CentralFLMike

Lil-Rokslider
I think you answered your own question. Work on the basic fundamentals until you can diagnose problem areas and improve your shooting skills. Get some instruction if you have to. Without perfecting your shooting skills, diagnosing equipment needs will suffer. Newer or better equipment will not make up for poor form.

But, I'm just a guy on the internet.

Macintosh

WKR
Shotgun vent rib/or no rib isnt made to "sight" like a rifle so it may be more than simply getting a good cheek weld. Many vent-rib guns are designed to shoot a little high so a rising bird hits the shot pattern (i.e. it's a little "built-in" lead on a moving target), and for me remmy stocks are very low so if I get a good cheek weld I hit low 100% of the time. If you are going to aim the gun instead of point it, then I'd want some sort of real sight, either front and rear irons or a scope. Several ways you can do this without modifying your grandfather's gun.