Ruger American Predator or Howa KRG?

Looking at a 6mm creedmoor for my daughters. I've priced out a donor semi-custom Ruger American Predator and KRG Bravo with AICS mag for around $1,000. However, Howa sells a complete "Howa Bravo" in 6mm creed for more or less the same price ($1,009).

I have a Ruger American in .308 and don't have any issues with the action or accuracy. However, I have no experience with Howa rifles. This will likely be a low round count rifle, so looking for first hand side-by-side experience with folk about which action/barrel/accuracy is better for the same price.

Ruger- 22" threaded barrel
Howa- 24" threaded barrel

With rings and SWFA 6x42, the Ruger comes in at $1465 and the Howa is $1477. Granted the Ruger will require a tiny amount of extra work swapping stocks, but that's no biggy.

Thank you in advance!

Last edited:

nobody

WKR
I burned up a barrel on a Ruger American Predator in 6.5 Creed. It was accurate and put multiple offerings of anything above 130 grain into nice little groups with boring accuracy, even crappy factory Barnes LRX loadings.

That said, other than it's accuracy, it left a lot to be desired. The Howa is a superior rifle without a doubt. Much better build, better trigger, better action, better in many many ways. There's lots of companies who will build full customs from them as well, so the aftermarket support between the two is a wash.

If it's a throwaway disposable toy, buy the Ruger.

If you want more of a lifetime investment piece, buy the Howa.

OP
jjohnsonElknewbie
Just a thought. They dont have a 6mm CM in stock right now. But You can buy a Howa barreled action from brownells. Sometimes they sell for stupid cheap.

Right now a 6.5 creedmoor is $429. Another $400 for a new KRG, if a guy cant round up a used one. Hunt around a bit, and you might be able to put a rifle together, including glass for around $1k-$1100
I will keep an eye out on brownell's for sure. Thx for the head's up

grfox92

WKR