Rain gear advice please

mod7rem

FNG
I've been hunting goats and stone's sheep for close to 15 yrs now, always using some form of "waterproof breathable" fabric. So far everything seems to soak through pretty easily. The last few years I've been using eVent jacket (integral designs) and eVent pants (westcomb). This year hunting sheep they both soaked through with light but steady rain, and they dont take long to soak through when brush busting. I think I'd rather be wet from sweat than freezing cold rain and snow. Any recommendations? Thanks.

Helly Hansen Impertech, relatively light weight . Also, Peter Storm, if you can find it!!

I have also never experienced truly waterproof , breathable rain gear!! They need to test all raingear in Yakutat, on the North Gulf Coast . 200+ inches per year!!
They need to use it in the field, walking through brush, packing through alders, etc., not standing in the shower!!!

Bob

Last edited:

halg

Lil-Rokslider
Rain gear usually gives you a choice between getting wet from your own sweat or have a little soak through. I prefer a good 3 layer goretex (or equivalent) with big pit zips to help some heat escape. When using "breathable" rain gear, always, always ALWAYS assume that the DWR coatingon the outer ply is junk - especially the factory DWR treatments. Before every season, or as soon as you buy rain gear, wash it in tech wash to remove whatever under performing DWR is there. Immediately spray the living heck out of it with Revive-X, paying particular attention to seams and shoulders, and then put it in the dryer on high heat to activate the revive-x. You will find that your rain gear protects you much better - this treatment needs to be repeated, depending on how much you use it and how much abrasion from your pack it encounters. Search YouTube for revive-x and see how people do it if you have any questions.

OP
M

mod7rem

FNG