Physical conditioning

Luziana Feller

Lil-Rokslider
Being a complete rookie, i need to know if my fitness goals are realistic or inadequate. i'm hunting Elk in October from 9K to 11K+ elevation in a fairly rugged area. Primarily backpacking/bivvying but may spend a night or two truck camping if needed. i also understand i cannot be in TOO good of shape since i'm coming from sea level practically.

I am wanting to be able to hike 10 miles on trails with a 100 pound pack by the time August gets here. then slowly increase weight to 120 pounds or so leading up to the hunt. i am also a competitive trail runner. and strength train 3 times a week. i do a ton of core and legs. i don't mind a little pain. i put my new pack to work yesterday with 40 pounds in it and honestly got bored after 3 miles and ran mile 4. i'm thinking i'll start upping the weight and mileage gradually every week.

thoughts? are there holes in my training? should my goal be 20 miles with 200 pound pack? (Lord, i hope not)

*zap*

WKR
The wear and tear you put on your knees running with 40# and rucking 100#+ may not be good for you as you age. Personally, I would track moving mph and terrain difficulty and stay primarily in the 50-70# ruck range. Going faster and over more difficult terrain will provide some good benefits and can be done incrementally. 100#+ for a set distance may be a good gauge of where you are but it may not be the best to do with regularity.
Ruck hiking is a very good exercise to prepare for ruck hiking and if you add full range of motion posterior chain lifts you will increase your preparedness. JMO, ymmv.

Good luck with it!

RosinBag

Super Moderator
Staff member