OTC Archery Colorado

I'm trying to start planning a otc archery hunt for next season I have never been to Colorado. And looking at all the different units is alittle overwhelming. Can someone give me a general direction to a couple units to start looking into. We are coming from Alabama and because of time restrictions we have pretty much decided the northern part of the states and units won't he doable this time. Ant help will be greatly appreciated

trailblazer75

Lil-Rokslider
I'm a rookie so I'll tell you my experience so far and maybe it'll help. Last year I threw a dart at a map and went, like svivian said above and I got my ass handed to me. I'm in superb shape. I shoot my butt off. I practiced calling and how/why/when to call for months. I got absolutely WHIPPED in an OTC hunt. Pressure, competition, lack of understanding of how thermals REALLY work as well as how elk move on the landscape, what elevation they're at during a given timeframe...just LOCATING elk did me in.

I still don't have anything close to all the answers. But now I have my feet wet (or damp, maybe). So this season I'm going OTC but I'm paying an outfitter to pack me in. I made friends with a vastly more experienced elk hunter and he's given me some great mentorship. I took last year's trouncing as an experience building time and just rolled on with it.

Out of state hunters are typically not very well thought of on RS because a few have whined about tag prices and access. DO NOT GET DRAGGED. Do your research, learn to love a map app, figure out odds in a unit you feel like you can successfully navigate and hunt in safely where you feel like opportunity is a possibility. That's the BEST case scenario in my opinion. Good luck.

svivian

WKR