Opinions on Moon phases during archery season?

Archelk

Lil-Rokslider
Just wanted to get some of your opinions out there on moon phases during archery season for elk. Have you guys found during the moonless nights that the elk tend to feed more during the day because of lack of light and vice versa as far as full moons and then not a lot of activity the following morning because they were able to feed at night with light to get around? Never have given it much thought until reading an article recently.

brewer427

WKR
It seems like for me that when there is a full moon there has been less activity through the day. Now that being said I've been in the woods, with a full moon that night, the rut was going full swing and had non stop activity for most of the day. I'm no expert by any means but that's kind of been my experience. I've never really researched the effects the moon has on elk. But it seems to me the weather has more of a effect on kicking the rut off, but again I don't know.

CentennialELK

Lil-Rokslider
My experience with the moon is decreased activity leading up to the rut and increased after. When the new moon comes in September I have been told by a very cagey 80 year old elk hunter that it triggers the rut. He has over 60 elk to his credit and the experience I gleaned from him has worked for me. The rut starts with a +/-3 day window of the full moon, usually between the 15th and 25th of Sept. Last fall it started the day after. Who knows, may be a wives tale but I'll keep following it.

drthornton

Lil-Rokslider
My opinion is that you will drive yourself crazy trying to correlate the moon. I've seen and heard it every which way. I think pressure and weather have more affect on daytime activity than the moon does. If you are planning a bugling bull hunt, plan for mid-late Sept and forget about the moon.

I pay no attention to it really. I've seen it both ways and will always plan on the best dates in general.

littlebuf

Banned