Off season practice

Hello everyone,
I'm new to bowhunting and new to Rokslide. Bow season ended Dec. 8th for me. I have shot my bow once since. My question is to those seasoned archers out there, how often should one shoot their bow in order to retain muscle memory and skill set in preparation for Sept. Elk season?

I’m picking my bow up again after a 3 year hiatus. (Hunted exclusively with my rifle during that time). Starting this month through the end of August, my goal is 100 arrows/week. Most week nights I should be able to find time to fling 20 in the backyard. If not, I can make it up on weekends.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I went 2 years on my compound....picked it up for a hunt in Dec....it was right on after a dozen arrows.

Bad example...I shoot a stick bow now and I have to practice twice a week to feel right with that bow.

A compound shooter can shoot less and stay sharp. Now, if you shoot a trigger finger release, shooting a lot can ingrain bad habits that actually make your shooting worse- target panic and such.

Everybody is different but personally I think the way you practice...... is as important as the practice.

I went 2 years on my compound....picked it up for a hunt in Dec....it was right on after a dozen arrows.

Bad example...I shoot a stick bow now and I have to practice twice a week to feel right with that bow.

A compound shooter can shoot less and stay sharp. Now, if you shoot a trigger finger release, shooting a lot can ingrain bad habits that actually make your shooting worse- target panic and such.

Everybody is different but personally I think the way you practice...... is as important as the practice.

That’s the key! I’d much rather shoot 50 quality arrows than 200 with some quality shots mixed in.