Nock kick up in flight and looping

philcox

WKR
I just started bare shaft Tuning, I have never done it before. I shot a fletched arrow at 40 yards, and followed it up with a bear shaft of the same weight, using tape on the backend. The bare shaft arrow did kind of a looping right to left, and hit about 2 feet low and to left of the fletched arrow. I am left-handed shooter. I then tried it again at a slightly closer distance and got a similar “loop”
But not as dramatic (low left by a foot). I then grabbed a couple more arrows, and strip the fletching’s off, and tried them at about 30 yards, with three arrows one arrow seem to go, OK, and the other two had the nock kick up in flight.

These erratic flight patterns are the bear shaft arrows, have me concerned. With a heavy front of send your arrow cause some of this abnormalities? I am running a 550 grain arrow, with about 275g up front.

I’m gonna go out and try it again in the next couple of days, see if I can duplicate it, but thought I’d ask in parallel.

Garryett

FNG
40 yards is a bit far for bare shaft I think. Could be a bunch of things. What’s your bow setup? Draw length and weight?

OP
philcox

philcox

WKR
Shooting in Prime Nexus 2, 70#, drawl length is 28 1/2. HameskyTrinity hunter pro rest. Scott Legacy trigger release. Arrows are 28 1/2 inches bass pro black out X1 300 spine.

Garryett

FNG
Think it’s probably a distance thing bare shaft. But you could be under spined with all that weight up front. To be honest I don’t bare shaft tune. If it shoots a bullet through paper it good for me. My arrows are a lot lighter though… around 430 with an almost full length arrow due to my draw length.

Inconsistent bareshaft flight could be a sign of weak arrow spine (or inconsistent form).