New Mexico 16A Archery DIY or Outfitter?

EATELK

FNG
I somehow beat the odds and drew a 2nd season archery elk tag in 16A as a non-resident. I know there are guys out there asking for GPS coordinates for a 360", but my question is more about the need or value to hire an outfitter. I’ve always been a DIY hunter and have never gone a guided elk hunt, but realize this is a pretty special tag and it may be worth biting the bullet to hire an outfitter (assuming the wife is on board). I’ve been bowhunting elk for 10 years with some decent success so I’m not a complete newbie to elk hunting.

I did NOT apply with an outfitter, so I’m part of the 6% allocation pool. As I understand it, 10% of the tags go to people who have already signed up with an outfitter, meaning there are already 15 tag holders signed up with an outfitter. If I do decide to go the outfitter route, will I be stuck with a lower tier outfitter at this point? I’m not sure how many guides there are running around in 16a, but I kind of feel like I’m behind the curve as far as booking a solid outfitter. Anyone have experience with this or some advice?

BBob

WKR
The Gila is always full of guides running around. Been that way forever and that's just part of the NM game. 16A is easy to get around in and totally doable DIY. I've always been DIY and that would be my choice (I've also spent a lot of time all over the Gila) so maybe others can help you out if a guide would be worth it or not.

KHNC

WKR
A good outfitter will cost you close to 10k. If that matters. Check with Gila & Apache. They are one of the best, if you can afford them.

mproberts

WKR
You just drew what is basically a once in a lifetime tag. If trophy quality is really important to you and you don't feel confident in your abilities to get it done DIY I would definitely look into an outfitter. I don't know what the market for them is like in 16A but in other areas of the state 5-7k seems to be the going rate for a quality guide.

Gila

WKR