Votes: 36 28.3%
  • Nightforce NX8 2.5-20x50

Votes: 72 56.7%
  • Other

Votes: 19 15.0%

• Total voters

rootacres

WKR
So to clarify this is the MK5 HD 3.6-18x44 vs NX8 2.5-20x50 F1.

Both these scopes are more premium than anything I have owned before. Im coming from a 3-15x42 Razor HD LHT. These scopes are about as heavy as I would really like to go. How does the optical quality compare between the two and how does it compare to the Razor LHT that I have been using? You peeps that have experience with one or both id be very interested in hearing what you have to say.

This will be going on my 7 SAUM with max intended hunting range being around 700 yds (I will practice further if I can).

Thanks

I've owned all three
The mk5 kills the nx8 in every category
The LHT 3-15 really isn't in the same class, you will be very impressed with the 3.6-18 after using the vortex
This ^^^^. Mark5HD is in a different league than the NX8. Closest comparison would be the ATACR.

I have no experience with the MK5. All I can say is I really want to like the 2.5-20, but that eyebox is so damn finicky I don’t think I could buy one.

tdhanses

WKR
I’d rather buy a 3.6-18 Mk5 than take a 2.5-20 NX8 for free. If you want a Nightforce, look for a used/demo 4-16x42 ATACR, which compares to the MK5 much better than an NX8.
So you’d rather have a MK5 failure then reliability? Seems like you hear about way more MK5 failures then NX8. Personally to me, reliability trumps everything so I’d go with the brand known for reliability.

But this has been hashed out here many times and no way i’d get a MK5.

tdhanses

WKR
I have no experience with the MK5. All I can say is I really want to like the 2.5-20, but that eyebox is so damn finicky I don’t think I could buy one.
Yeah I think this is just something people have to try, i don’t feel the 2.5-20 has a finicky eyebox but everyone is different.

zrodwyo

Lil-Rokslider