Mental Stability in the Field.

Hblazier3

FNG
I've grown up hunting my whole life. Being raised around a beef ranching family in Idaho I always joke about how its ironic that i grew up eating more Elk and Mule Deer than i ever grew up on beef. As i graduated high school and ventured off on my own, hunting kind of fell on the back burner from ages 18-25. I was just too busy riding bucking horses, and at the time i was working on ranches where fall time was always pretty busy.
Finally, I find myself a big boy job. No more saddle bummin'. The PTO, the lack of animals lives that relied on me, and the man-power to cover me as I get to pursue my favorite dinner meals. As I took on my childhood past time, and my fathers traditions, the first 2 years i STRUGGLED. Pops isn't interested in hunting as he is not feeding a family anymore, so I continued mentorless. I fly solo, mind you, so my first 2 years were trial, error, and full of frustration. I had to dig into my memories of animal habitat, human habits, and the mental grind. I kept finding myself giving up. No deer. No elk. As I would reflect in the off season I would kick myself for giving up. I realized the small details were killing me. I was giving myself excuses to crawl back down that mountain. No food? Head home. No water? Go home. Weather sucks? Get dry in the tent.