Looking for a gun safe for my hunting rifle!

Hi everyone! My husband and I are expecting a baby soon, and we're making some changes around the house to prepare. We want to make sure our home is as safe as possible, so I'm looking to surprise my husband with a new Winchester safe from Home Selection. I found one that can hold over 30 guns and protect itself from a fire - the Winchester Ranger 44. I'd love any advice or recommendations you have since I'm new to all of this. My husband works a lot, so I want to handle this on my own and surprise him with the perfect safe for our growing family. Thanks for any help you can give!

Welcome And congrats on the new addition To the family.

a couple of thoughts:

- go bigger than you think. I am not sure how they count 30 guns but if you are talking hunting rifles with scopes or ARs with gadgets, cut that number in half at least. Also, gun collections grow over time so there is that

- think about your security situation. Less expensive safes are proabbly fine for kids. Real thieves can make quick work of them.

- safes are heavy. A few hundred pounds empty. Full they get even heavier. You don’t want to have to move them and you don’t want to crack your floor or foundation.

- mine has a pistol and gadget storage panel on the door. I love that feature.

I am not sure where you live, but a couple of gun stores in my area sell safes. Their people are very knowledgeable and helpful. They are a better option IMO than a clerk at big box seller who isn’t really gonna know anything about their safes.

good luck

EdP

WKR
Congrats on the baby. The gift of a safe for your husband is a very nice thought. A safe is expensive and a major purchase. As such, the selection needs to be a joint decision between you and your husband. I'm sorry that this advice is contrary to the nice thing you want to do, but it IS good advice.