Long range scopes

Rob5589

WKR
Super open ended question. What do you consider long range? Hunting, target, comps?
The Bushnell 3.5-21 is a great scope for around a grand (used).
I have used the Vortex PST line and was pretty impressed for the money.
The SWFA line is popular, I have no personal experience with them.

Define long range...if measured in distances longer than 2 miles, how many aspirin do you intend to eat? Better to save your money than buy inferior glass. Are you looking for a long range spotting scope or rifle scope?

Last edited:

16Bore

WKR
Hmmmm......let me give you the asshole answer. So you wanna shoot “long range”. OK, everyone does.

Now for the assumptions:

1. You’re new to shooting.
2. You’re new to “long range”
3. You’ve got a pile of play money
4. TV & Social Media have influenced your “need”
5. You’re not much of a hunter and figure if I can do it from a further distance, “I’ll have more success”.
6. Shooting something from “far away” is impressive.....should you be lucky enough to do so, the first thing you’ll mention is how far away “it” was.
7. You didn’t mention the rifle
8. You didn’t mention the bullet
9. You didn’t mention MOA or MILS
10. You didn’t mention scope tracking.
11. You just want the best for under $1,000 and assume everything else will just “work itself out”
12. ......and maybe an elk out west day

Having had a pile of asshole assumptions made on your part, time to clear the air.

Nobody beats their own dog. Anyone that’s dropped $1,000 on a scope won’t tell you it’s shit.

All scopes are “long range scopes”, but not everyone is a “long range shooter”

Asshole sarcasm mode off....

I’m about to upgrade to a 35 power scope. If you’re interested I’ll sell you a hell of a 1000 yard scope.

Leupold Mark 4 Long Range Tactical 6.5-20 power. $2000 scope. $1000 to your door. Includes Leupold flip ip lense covers, Talley 1 piece bases, tube mounted scope level, and retractable tape to write down your minutes of angle.