Is there an advantage to mil over MOA?

MHWASH

WKR
The majority of my scopes are MOA, but I found a good deal on a mil scope. For simplicity, should I stick to MOA or would the mil scope be better for long range shooting? Long range hunting eventually being up to 1000.

mxgsfmdpx

WKR
Once you get used to the intervals of 10 it can be much simpler and quicker. I’m used to it from precision grading and a huge majority of contractors using 10ths of feet instead of feet and inches. Easier on the brain and much quicker once learned.

MOA makes more sense in my head. Yards makes sense to me. I’m a bowhunter and do rifle same as I do bow. I use a rangefinder, range then dial moa to what yardage I want. But I’m no expert by any means.

Last edited:

Wrench

WKR
Most mil scopes are a number of mils per rev that makes sense. Swfa being as bad as they get at 5 per....so two revs is 10 mils.

Now look at moa scopes 12, 16, 18 per rev.

Now let's say your prediction calls for 24 moa. Easy enough with the 12moa per scope....but it quickly turns into a math equation when you should be swinging for the fence.

All great great true points.

I’ll add wind holding if you grow to long range shooting. Mil system matches the wind bracket of your Bullet BC. Ie a bc of .42 is a 4 mph wind bracket. If wind is 4 mph it moves your Bullet .1 mil per 100 yards in distance as an example.
Its that simple? Since I’m shooting the same bullet from a 6.5 creed as a 26 nosler, my wind holds are the same?

Shraggs

WKR
Ha calling wind is hard as you know, but I’m saying your reticle in mils is a ruler. If you’re going to hold .4 mils for a 4mph wind at 400 yards the reticle quickly reflects that hold in above example. The burden if a good wind call still is the challenge, but there can be a time savings hold solution with the seamless nature of mils ( corresponding to bc bracket in mils) but not a better solution than moa.

Longleaf

Lil-Rokslider