If States own wildlife management, under what legal authority does the ESA operate?

This is one that I’ve pondered for a while… We’ve often heard the mantra here time and time again when arguing about nonresident tag costs and allocation, the Wyoming and Alaska nonresident guide rules, etc. that States have the authority to manage wildlife, the feds don’t.

Period, end of discussion. Doesn’t matter if that wildlife spends its entire life in federal land, the Feds have no say.

Yet we have this thing called the endangered species act. Try as they may, and despite all the evidence proving they have made a full recovery, WY, MT and ID can’t have a grizzly season yet.

So a question for the legal minds here… Under what legal authority does the ESA operate?

This is a genuine question, did a quick google search and came up with nothing.

ETA edited the thread title to be more technically correct.

Last edited:

Johnny Tyndall

Lil-Rokslider
I am not a lawyer, but presumably the "supremacy clause" in article VI of the constitution?

"This Constitution, and the laws of the United States which shall be made in pursuance thereof; and all treaties made, or which shall be made, under the authority of the United States, shall be the supreme law of the land; and the judges in every state shall be bound thereby, anything in the Constitution or laws of any State to the contrary notwithstanding."

Fordguy

WKR
States don't own wildlife, and neither do the state residents. You can look it up, any number of scholarly sources and more than one federal statute clarify this. States are typically (but not always) allowed to manage wildlife for the benefit of the public. Frequently trust like language is used to explain the relationship between the state and the wildlife within it's borders.

cfdjay

WKR