Help with a new rig

brettpsu

Lil-Rokslider
I hit the jack pot last night at a local gun raffle......won two guns and an $1,800 gun safe. The two guns are worth $1,200 in credit and I would like to put together a nice lightweight mountain rifle for around $1,500 total. Gun would be used for big game, out to 500yds and I really enjoy backpack style hunting. I'm no gun expert mostly a bow hunter so go easy on the tech talk. This is what I've been thinking about.

Tikka T3 lite SS in a 300 win mag and a Meopta meopro 4-14x44. No idea what kind of rings and bases to buy or any upgrades to this rig.

If anyone has any other ideas on the rifle, scope, bases or rings please chime in.

handwerk

WKR
Wow jackpot yes, have you shot a lwt 300 wm before? I'd first make sure you'll enjoy it otherwise I'd think about a different caliber in the T3, perhaps the boring old 30'06. Another thought would be a kimber montana 84L, in 06', 270 or 280 AI. I'm a fan of talley 1 pcs mounts holding whatever scope looks good to your eyes. Enjoy the process of putting together your rifle......

Trr15

WKR
Congrats! Time to buy a lottery ticket too...The T3 with meopta scope sounds like a solid set up. I'm a fan of 1 piece Mounts as well. I have the DNZ gamereaper mount on my t3 and Am happy with it. As far as other upgrades, I'd definitely recommend a limbsaver recoil pad for that .300 wm.

danarnold

WKR
I totally agree with above posts, I have the T3 in 300 and have only bench shot it, kicks like a mule3, I shoot 7mag and 338mag pretty regular and still dont love the 300 yet.I still need that recoil pad too

Steve O

WKR
Classified Approved
That sounds like a solid setup--.270 or 30-06 would be a much better plan for a casuals shooter. You don't need a magnum for anything in the lower 48.